Series Information

anime information

supers logo
Producer Iriya Azuma, Toshihiro Arisako
Series Director Kunihiko Ikuhara
Music Takanori Arisawa
Character Design Ikuko Itou
Studio Toei Animation
Network TV Asahi
Original run March 4th, 1995 -
March 2nd, 1996
Episodes 39

Series, Specials, & Movies Information: SuperS

Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon SuperS is the fourth series of Sailor Moon. It ran on Japanese television from March 4, 1995 to March 2, 1996, consisting of 39 episodes. SuperS also includes a three episode special that aired between episodes 131 and 132. SuperS was the last series to spawn a theatrical release, the only one of which had an official title: "Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon SuperS: The 9 Sailor Soldiers Get Together! Miracle of the Black Dream Hole!" A special short movie was produced to play with the movie, entitled Ami's First Love.

SuperS had two openings, both set to the Moon Lips version of "Moonlight Densetsu" and two ending animations and themes, "Watashitachi ni Naritakute" by Miwako Fujitani and "Rashiku Ikimashou" by Meu.

The name "SuperS" is pronounced as "supers," not "Super S" (written in Japanese as suupaazu), despite the appearance of the title. SuperS most likely refers to the upgraded forms of the Sailor Team.

Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon SuperS was originally based upon the Dream arc (Acts 39 - 49) of the manga. The SuperS storyline and characters have also been re-imagined in the following musicals:

  • 1995 Summer Special Musical Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon SuperS Yume Senshi - Ai - Eien ni...
  • 1996 Spring Special Musical Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon SuperS (Kaiteiban) Yume Senshi - Ai - Eien ni... Saturn Fukkatsu Hen!
  • Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon SuperS Special Musical Show
  • 1998 Summer Special Musical Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon Shin - Densetsu Kourin BEGINNING OF THE NEW LEGEND
Series Summary

During a lunar eclipse, the Dead Moon Circus descends to Earth. The Circus' tent remains unnoticed, and life continues on as normal. The Circus is in search of Pegasus and the Golden Crystal. Zirconia dispatches the Amazon Trio, who begin searching the Dream Mirrors of humans for Pegasus.

Pegasus gives Sailor Moon and Sailor Chibi Moon new transformations and powers. Sailors Mercury, Mars, Jupiter, and Venus receive similar power-ups. During this time, Pegasus begins communicating solely and secretly with Chibi-usa, who begins to develop a strong bond with him.

The Amazon Trio quickly runs out of second chances, and after learning they themselves aren't human, become desparate to find Pegasus. They eventually betray Nehellenia and save Usagi. Pegasus grants the Trio their wish of becoming human permanantly.

The Amazoness Quartet replace the Trio and begin targeting humans to locate the Golden Mirror, where Pegasus is hiding. It is revealed that Pegasus is Helios, the guardian of Elysion and the Golden Crystal. The Sailor Team faces off with the Quartet, and invades the Dead Moon's circus tent. Chibi Moon is kidnapped, and the Golden Crystal is stolen from Pegasus. When the Sailor Team faces off with Nehellenia, the Quartet aids them by giving Sailor Moon the Golden Crystal. Chibi Moon invokes the Crystal's power, overwhelming Nehellenia and destroying the circus tent.

Nehellenia grabs Chibi Moon and runs away, Sailor Moon in quick pursuit. Nehellenia throws Chibi Moon off the edge, and Sailor Moon follows. Nehellenia is sealed within the Mirror and disappears. Mid-air, Sailor Moon is able to awaken Chibi-usa, who calls to Pegasus to save them. After a tearful goodbye with Chibi-usa, Helios returns to Elysion.


Episode Number and English Title Japanese Title Premiere
128 Meeting of Fate! The Night Where a Pegasus Flies Unmei no deai! Pegasasu no mau yoru 03/04/1995
129 Super Transformations Again! Pegasus' Power Suupaa henshin futatabi! Pegasasu no pawaa 03/11/1995
130 Protect a Mother's Dream! The New Attack for Double Moon Mamore haha no yume! Daburu muun no shin hissatsu waza 03/18/1995
131 Capture the Pegasus! The Amazons' Trap Pegasasu wo toraero! Amazon no wana 03/25/1995
132 A Couple Made for Each Other! Usagi and Mamoru's Love Oniai no futari! Usagi to Mamoru no ai 04/15/1995
133 Artemis' Affair? A Mysteries Kitten Appears Arutemisu no uwaki? Nazo no koneko toujou 04/29/1995
134 Makoto's Friendship! A Girl Who Adores a Pegasus Makoto no yuujou! Pegasasu ni akogareta shoujo 05/13/1995
135 Hearts That Communicate! Chibi Usa and Pegasus Fureau kokoro! Chibiusa to Pegasasu 05/20/1995
136 Protect Mamoru! Jealousy of Usagi the Ninja Mamoru wo mamore! Ninja Usagi no yakimochi 05/27/1995
137 Forest of Illusion! Invitation of a Beatiful Fairy Ayakashi no mori! Utsukushiki yousei no izanai 06/03/1995
138 Drive to Heaven! Love Riding on the Car of Dreams Tengoku made hashire! Yume no kuruma ni kakeru ai 06/10/1995
139 Try for the Best of Japan! The Worries of a Beautiful Girl Swordsman Mezase Nippon ichi! Bishoujo kenshi no nayami 06/17/1995
140 Love those Minis! The Fashionable Guardians Mini ga daisuki! Oshare na senshitachi 07/01/1995
141 Storm of Love! Minako's Grand Two-Timing Plan Koi no arashi! Minako no futamata daisakusen 07/08/1995
142 Mansion of Secrets! The Menu of Love to You Himitsu no yakata! Ai no menyuu wo anata ni 07/15/1995
143 Time to Believe the Pegasus! The Super Transformations of the Sailor Guardians Pegasasu wo shinjiru toki! 4 senshi no suupaa henshin 07/22/1995
144 Sparkling Summer Days! Ami, the Girl in the Ocean Breeze Kirameku natsu no hi! Shiokaze no shoujo Ami 08/12/1995
145 Aim for the Prima! Usagi's Ballet Purima wo nerae! Usagi no baree 08/18/1995
146 Holiday in Juuban! A Carefree Princess Juubangai no kyuujitsu! Mujaki na oujosama 08/26/1995
147 The Fated Partner? Makoto's Innocence Unmei no paatonaa? Makoto no junjou 09/02/1995
148 Shadows of Great Evil! The Trio is Cornered Kyoaku no kage! oitsumerareta torio 09/23/1995
149 Mirror or Dreams! Amazons' Final Stage Yume no kagami! Amazon saigo no suteeji 10/21/1995
150 Amazoness! The Nightmare from Behind the Mirror Amazonesu! Kagami no ura kara kita akumu 10/28/1995
151 The Power Explodes! Ami's Song From the Heart Shin no pawaa bakuhatsu! Ami kokoro no shirabe 11/04/1995
152 Burning Passion! Mars' Furious Deadly Attack Honoo no jounetsu! Maazu ikari no chou hissatsu waza 11/11/1995
153 A Dentist of Terror? PallaPalla's House Kyoufu no haishasan? Parapara no yakata 11/18/1995
154 Confrontation in Dreams! Minako and Makoto's Broken Friendship Yume taiketsu! Minako to Makoto zekkou sengen 11/25/1995
155 Over the Fear! Jump to Freedom Kyoufu wo koete! Jiyuu he no janpu 12/02/1995
156 Don't Lose Your Dreams! The Truth Reflecting Mirror Yume wo miushinawanaide! Shinjitsu wo utsusu kagami 12/09/1995
157 Pegasus is Gone!? Swinging Friendships Pegasasu ga kieta!? Yure ugoko yuujou 12/16/1995
158 The Secret of Pegasus! The Handsome Guardian of the Dream World Pegasasu no himitsu! Yume sekai wo mamoru bishounen 12/23/1995
159 Chibi Usa's Little Rhapsody of Love Chibiusa no chiisana koi no rapusodi 01/13/1996
160 Dream to be an Adult! The Amzoness' Bewilderment Otona ni naru yume! Amazonesu no touwaku 01/20/1996
161 Coming Terror! The Dark Queen's Evil Approach Ugoki dashita kyoufu! Yami no joou no mashu 01/27/1996
162 The Center of the Darkness: Dead Moon Circus Yami no shingenchi Deddo Muun Saakasu 02/03/1996
163 Labyrinth of Mirrors! Chibi Moon Captured Kagami no meikyuu! Toraerareta Chibi Muun 02/10/1995
164 The Golden Crystal Appears! Nehellenia's Spell Gooruden kurisutaru shutsugen! Neherenia no maryoku 02/17/1996
165 Time for the Crystal to Shine! Beautiful Power of Dreams Kurisutaru no kagayaku toki! Utsukushiki yume no pawaa 02/24/1996
166 Dreams Forever! Light Throughout the Sky Yume yo itsu made mo! Hikari ten ni michite 02/02/1996

back · top · main · forward